Modeling Begins

So here goes with modeling! I’m by no means a good modeler, so my hesitance sometimes makes this is a slow process. I’m using Softimage XSI at this point because it’s faster for me. I started off by taking my drawing and making a front/side/back panel so I can draw in 3d from it. I drew simple NURBs curves and lofted them to get a good sense of Mr. Caveman’s overall volume. From there, I converted my NURBs surface into a polygonal model, and started splitting and moving points around. Although this is a simple model, I want good topology, so – I’m taking my time to make the right cuts. After I’m all done, I mirror my guy over and – voila! Here’s my rough draft model!!

Leave a Reply

