Workflow

These last few shots are quite long in comparison to the rest of the film and though sometimes I animate straight-ahead, for longer scenes where timing needs to be a little more precise, I animate pose-to-pose. When I do this, I like to plan out the major beats in the acting by drawing out little thumbnail sketches. These will give me a good sense for how the sequence will play out. After these are established, I jump straight into animating – going back and forth to the mirror to observe how different body parts rotate, translate, etc. Just because this is computer animation doesn’t mean everything’sdone in the computer!

Leave a Reply

